Copies or Money for Copies

Begbie

Quite a character
Registered
Reaction score
New to the forum... Hello everyone!

I recently signed with an agent (AAR member) in NY. The agent is about to submit my novel to the major houses. The agent stated that she normally requests a number of copies of the MS from the author for submission, but in my case (I am presently out of the country), she will have the copies made and I will pay for them now (prior to the sale).

I've read time and time again (advice from Miss Snark and others) that an author should pay nothing until a sale is made. But is it common for authors to submit their own copies for submission? Is this agent doing me a favor? Or should I dispute the charging of fees prior to sale?

Thanks in advance!

Maprilynne

Author Waiting in the Wings
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.powerfulbirth.com
I am far from an expert, but I have heard of several very well-respected agencies who do ask for you to produce your own copies of the manuscript. I am not a fan of this trend, but I don't think it should be a deal breaker. <shrug> Would love to hear what others think.

Maprilynne

Jamesaritchie

Registered
Reaction score
copies

Begbie said:
New to the forum... Hello everyone!

I recently signed with an agent (AAR member) in NY. The agent is about to submit my novel to the major houses. The agent stated that she normally requests a number of copies of the MS from the author for submission, but in my case (I am presently out of the country), she will have the copies made and I will pay for them now (prior to the sale).

I've read time and time again (advice from Miss Snark and others) that an author should pay nothing until a sale is made. But is it common for authors to submit their own copies for submission? Is this agent doing me a favor? Or should I dispute the charging of fees prior to sale?

Thanks in advance!