PDA

View Full Version : I've been querying for five months and I have some questions

thejenmath
01-26-2016, 07:40 PM
I sent out my first batch of queries in September and systematically did until Christmas when everyone went on break. Now I'm back to it. But throughout the rejections I have some questions I hope someone here can shed some light on for me.

First, most of the rejections I've received have cited the same thing: my manuscript isn't what's popular or won't sell right now. And I'm really confused by that, because every advice article you see says to write what you want and not what's popular, so here I have agents who are rejecting my book because it's not popular in the market. Should I take that at face value or does it mean something different in agent-lingo?

Second, I had an agent who responded excitedly in October (like all caps excitedly), but she asked me to cut the word count down (which I was expecting; the original final draft was at 146,000 and I've cut it down to 109,000) and resubmit to her. So I did just that. And I never heard from her ever again. Do I give up on her?

I hope someone can help me.

mistri
01-26-2016, 08:04 PM
What are you writing, because some things do fall out of fashion quite quickly? And sometimes it is just an excuse.

Perks
01-26-2016, 08:16 PM
First, most of the rejections I've received have cited the same thing: my manuscript isn't what's popular or won't sell right now.

Do these rejections actually say that or is that an inference? Will you give us an example of the language? And how many of these are we talking about that say something to this effect?

mayqueen
01-26-2016, 09:13 PM