Anyone here in Waste Management?

NanMartin

Registered
Reaction score
My WIP/mystery is set in 1985, and my MC owns a waste-management business. I live in the Texas hill country; the book's set here as well. During that period, there was a garbage company in this area run and managed by a woman. I've interviewed her--she works as a CPA--and our local BFI, which pretty much dominates now. There's a lot of information about waste management online these days too, but I'd still like someone with knowledge of the business to make sure I've set up a workable company.

Any help would be appreciated. TIA.

NanMartin

Registered
Reaction score
Thanks, WeaselFire. I do, but she stays pretty busy running a business here in town. I hate to impose, though if needs be, I'll put aside my reluctance.

rtilryarms

Crossbows and Handgonnes
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Depending on the specific question, I might be able to help - for instance:
As a control contractor I have successfully converted 3 Waste-to-energy plants from pneumatic to digital PLC (programmable logic control) from 1989 to 1991, specifically Allen Bradley PL-5 and square D Symac. Previously I installed and serviced Pneumatic controls which would have been predominant in your time frame. So if it is about how they work, I can help.

Since I now operate facilities, I am very familiar with inter-city, inter-county and site-specific contracts - and their plusses and minuses, if the question is in contracts, I can help lead you to the proper public records or give insight on how I negotiate terms outside of the rip-off county and city contracts.

I have also done work for Waste Management corporate here in Fort Lauderdale, the corporate offices where Wayne Huizenga started it and it continues, and may have insight to their structure - again depending on your question specifics.

If I can help, let me know

Last edited:

rtilryarms

Crossbows and Handgonnes
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor