Tall British Tree

WriteMinded

Derailed
Registered
Reaction score
I'm exhausting myself trying to figure this out. I am no horticulturalist (if that is even the correct field).

In the forest — which is located somewhere in the mid-section of (my) 5th century Britain — Owain is searching for a missing youth. At one point, he climbs a tall tree and looks over the tops of the surrounding trees so he can see into the distance. I don't want to just call it a "tall tree". I need the species. It has to have branches low enough that he can climb without much trouble, and he has to be able to get high enough for that view.

Names of trees fitting the description would be much appreciated.

Last edited:

Los Pollos Hermanos

Craving the next chocolate hit...
Registered
Reaction score
Maybe an Ash? I know they can get pretty tall, but I'm no expert when it comes to horticulture!

https://www.woodlandtrust.org.uk/vi...-and-wildlife/british-trees/native-trees/ash/

Looks like it's got some historical value:

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/gardening/9684191/The-ash-tree-matters-because-of-its-history-in-our-landscape.html

The first article says they get to 35m when fully grown - that's a bit over 100 feet. I *do* know they're a pain in the arse when they grow too close to houses, although that's not really relevant to your story! ;)

Last edited:

Kitkitdizzi

Don't feed the critters
Registered
Reaction score

Silenia

Registered
Reaction score