PDA

View Full Version : Legal question about working overtime

rhymegirl
12-06-2015, 11:03 PM
Does anyone know if it's LEGAL to force employees who normally work 40 hours a week (8 hours a day) to work 12-hour days for maybe 5 days in a row? (that would be 60 hours)

Or does this have to be voluntary?

Thanks!

beckethm
12-06-2015, 11:13 PM
I assume we're talking about the U.S. here, and non-exempt (hourly) positions, rather than salaried jobs.

I'm not an expert on labor law, but I'm not aware of any law or regulation that says you can't require employees to work overtime. AFAIK, the law only requires that you pay time-and-a-half or double wages when you do. Some industries, like long-haul trucking, have limits on the number of hours a person can work for safety reasons, but that's job-specific.

Of course, in most states, employment is at-will, which means an employee can quit at any time and for any reason. So no one can be "forced" to work more hours than they want to.

Here's a link that might be helpful: http://www.legalmatch.com/law-library/article/forced-overtime.html

Fruitbat
12-06-2015, 11:19 PM
I know that some jobs have times when the employees have to work over forty hours per week. I can't imagine it would be such a widespread, openly done thing if it was illegal. If you refused, I'm pretty sure that would be grounds for being fired. However, they do have to pay overtime if the employee is paid by the hour. That's my understanding, anyway, fwiw.

shadowwalker
12-07-2015, 12:53 AM
Yeah, there's no law I know of preventing a legal adult from being required to work overtime, other than certain industries as mentioned above or if there's a union contract specifying maximum overtime. I once worked for a company where we had mandatory 60 hour weeks (6 10 hour days per week) and getting a Saturday off was like pulling teeth.

King Neptune
12-07-2015, 03:33 AM