Child's reaction

Milenio

Registered
Reaction score
I'm not a parent so I have no experience of how children would react in certain situations. And, due to the subject matter (child sex trafficking), I'm not sure who to interview and how I should format my query so that I don't seem like a paedophile wanting information so that I don't get caught in my future endeavours!

I need to get an idea of how children would react:
a) To being kidnapped - fight, flight, or freeze;
b) Violence within the kidnapping - if beaten once, would the fight be out of them and they become compliant;
c) Being groomed after being kidnapped - Stockholm syndrome;
d) Reaction to first sexual encounter - this would be at age of about 15, after "proper" grooming;
e) Being passed on to the eventual "customer" - the feeling of being goods to be traded, saying goodbye to fellow captives and captors (see c) ).

Age range at kidnapping will be 5-10. I realise that each child reacts differently and that there are many factors that will influence such reactions, but if I can get a general idea of how kids react - their thoughts, emotions, physical and mental "fight" - then I can form my characters around that. The kids in question would come from poor backgrounds, so they would be neglected and schooling would be poor or non-existent; they may or may not come from a violent home.

[Edit] There is a mix of boys and girls in that age range.

I have done a lot of research on the "business" side of trafficking, but now I'm stumped on the victims' emotional, mental and physical reactions.

I'm a nervous wreck doing research, what with all the systems in place concerning search strings, etc. I know somewhere, somebody is tracking my searches *pale*

Last edited:

GeorgeK

ever seeking
Registered
Reaction score
Children are people and like other people can have any reaction possible

Milenio

Registered
Reaction score
Children are people and like other people can have any reaction possible