PDA

View Full Version : Guys, I've never done this before - a request for help

Perks
11-01-2015, 02:02 AM
First off, if this seems inappropriate, I apologize and completely differ to the Moderators to delete this if they need to.

Something happened here today that has broken my heart for a kid who I find very admirable. My best friend is also my next door neighbor. You may know of (or have been in the situation yourself) where somebody else's kid becomes your second (or third, or fourth) child. My friend Mary has Samantha. Samantha is a remarkable girl. She is 16 years old and has kept the most beautiful attitude and powerful - and somehow cheerful - work ethic under extremely trying circumstances. You meet her and there's this serene and vibrant energy to her, a composure that's deeper than 16 years usually grows. You would never know the pitiful chaos she comes from. She and her sister have been raised by a very sweet, loving, but completely dysfunctional mother. Their struggles are dire, but the love has always been obvious. I'm not sure what sad story broke their mother, Cindy, but her abilities to cope with life have been kneecapped for all their lives together. My friend, Mary, has tried to fill in the gaps for Samantha (with love and joy - Sam's truly a delightful young woman) but we know that no one can undo all the knots.