Horse Dialog

Bren McDonnall

Registered
Reaction score
As we all know who've ever known a horse, they have many different moods, and many ways to convey those moods (up to and including snorting into your coffee every. single. morning.)

Anyway, how does a person lay down these moods/messages for the reader?

Whinny, nicker, snort, and etc are fairly commonplace, but horses are much more subtle creatures than those few words can convey.

My current problem is war horses. I've had some experience with mustangs and riding horses, but I had to have my stallion cut before he ran me into poverty bailing him out of horse jail, so I've never heard the "battle cry".

Can we maybe create a list of the different noises/physical signals that various horses (or mules) use and the best way to convey those sounds/actions to readers who might never have had to share space with a 900 pound peanut gallery?

Ornery pack horses, jaded rental mounts, newly broken mustangs, and the aforementioned war horse. Seems like it would be a handy reference guide to have when writing fantasy or westerns.

Roxxsmom

Beastly Fido
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
doggedlywriting.blogspot.com
Not sure exactly what you're asking for, but horses are very social, and in addition to sounds, they communicate a lot with body language and postures.

Here's a list of some horse sounds and behaviors.

And Equus magazine has some recordings.

Ears pinned or laced back, tight mouth, and bulgy eyes, lowered head, tucked tail etc. All these means a horse is unhappy.

Relaxed, droopy ears means a relaxed horse. Ears pricked means a horse is focusing on something in front of him/her and may be curious or interested, or maybe apprehensive.

Ears show a lot.

Horses nip and bite, and they'll swivel their rumps around and tuck their tails when they're going to kick.

A white ring around the eye means a horse is scared typically (except for appaloosas--they always have a white ring).