Horror author transitioning to Fantasy - need advice

Galumph_Triumph

Registered
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm a horror/thriller author, but when I was in my early 20's, I created a fantasy story for a video game I wanted to design. I have about 200 pages of backstory on the continent and characters, but now I plan to turn it all into an epic fantasy novel(s).

I have a few questions:

1. Is there some kind of online guide that gives a brief rundown of writing fantasy? I wonder how different it is from Horror and other related genres.

2. What common tropes should NEVER be used again? I once read that Fantasy readers hate reading about "evil for evil' sake", IE, the demons are spilling into this world, our armies are pushing them back, blah blah blah. Is this true?

3. What's a good POV for Fantasy? First person? Third omniscient? I was thinking Third limited, following the main character. My horror novel is first person, so this will be my first time doing something other than that.

4. How do you intertwine backstory with the narrative? My world is ancient, like many other fantasy worlds, and I don't want to do infodumps. What do you suggest? I was thinking, each city/important place the character arrives at, there's just a brief description of their history?

Brightdreamer

Just Another Lazy Perfectionist
Registered
Reaction score
Website
brightdreamersbookreviews.blogspot.com
Hi everyone,

I'm a horror/thriller author, but when I was in my early 20's, I created a fantasy story for a video game I wanted to design. I have about 200 pages of backstory on the continent and characters, but now I plan to turn it all into an epic fantasy novel(s).

I have a few questions:

1. Is there some kind of online guide that gives a brief rundown of writing fantasy? I wonder how different it is from Horror and other related genres.