Keeping an overview

smalleststar

Registered
Reaction score
Website
smalleststar.blogster.com
I am a novice thriller writer, and one of the many things that is taxing my brain at the moment is information management. What I mean is, obviously I want to have questions running through the story, and some will get answered and then others raised - but there's a difference between the reader having a question in mind as they read on, and them being totally confused about what on earth is happening. I find it hard to see the writing with a reader's eye, because I have the god's eye view on it all. So I find it hard to judge if what I'm writing makes enough sense, but raises questions.

I have started a system, using a simple table, to track information contained in the text. I have a column for 'scene/events', then another column for 'key information released to the reader in the scene', then another for 'reader's likely sense-making/key question'. This system seems OK, but feels a bit cumbersome, and I also feel like I'm reinventing the wheel.

Does anyone know of a good method for handling this issue? Does everyone feel the same about this issue? Hope you can help.

Linda Adams

Soldier, Storyteller
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.linda-adams.com
Setting up thrillers can be very challenging. The stories can lean towards overly complex, particularly if the reader and the characters don't get all the information they need to know. Some things that may help:

1. In a thriller, it isn't always necessary to keep information from the reader. It's one thing to keep the identity of a murderer a secret in a mystery; it's another thing entirely to reveal that Joe Smith is a dangerous villain and two chapters later, the reader is gripping their chair because the heroine is getting ready to meet with him, knowing Joe plans to kidnap her. So you may want to think about whether there are places where you can actually tell the reader without telling the hero.