Dent in skull after having an ICP bolt??

Los Pollos Hermanos

Craving the next chocolate hit...
Registered
Reaction score
A short but strange one, pretty please!

I have a character (Mr Fed from the last thread) who spent over a week in ICU after a nasty car crash. He had one of those intracranial pressure monitoring bolts inserted for a few days and I'm wondering if, a year later, he would be able to feel a (slight?) dent in his skull through his skin if he prods around.

During my googling I found reference to someone having a dent after numerous bolt insertions to monitor their hydrocephalus, but no other sources saying there would be a dent after just having one once.

Are there any doctors in the house, or maybe someone who's been unfortunate enough to have had a bolt?

Many thanks in anticipation,

LPH.

MDSchafer

Banned
Reaction score
Website
firstfolio.blogspot.com
I'm a neurology nurse, and the short answer is no. ICP monitors use a 19 gauge or a 18 gauge needle, which is within the same size range we use for IVs if that gives you any sort of size reference. Sometimes they're double, or triple, ports and have two, or three, needles injected in the same port, but even then the hole in the skull is remarkably small. The bone remodels and fills in the bore hole inside three months.

Last edited:

Los Pollos Hermanos

Registered
Reaction score
Marvellous! Many thanks for confirming what I assumed would be the case. I'm editing a scene where he's looking at the scars which serve as a visual reminder of his ordeal, and suddenly thought "Would he have a dent in his noggin?"

I did read somewhere that you can sometimes feel a slight ridge where there's been a linear skull fracture. Is this accurate information?

Cheers!

:D

Last edited:

MDSchafer

Banned
Reaction score
Website
firstfolio.blogspot.com