Revise and Resubmit

leighpod

leighpod
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.VioletHillsProductions.com
How common is it to ask for revisions if you have only read the first three chapters? I have just gotten such a request from a very reputable agent, but am in a quandary on quite what to do and how to respond. She also suggested a book for me to read though I am not a newbie and have been writing for a very long time. One of her suggestions would be quite a structural change-- and she has not read the entire manuscript. However, representation by this agency would be quite a boon. So--- my dilemma. Thoughts?

Toothpaste

THE RECKLESS RESCUE is out now!
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.adriennekress.com
I think this is where you need to be a little artsy fartsy and less business pragmatic and ask yourself if you like the suggestions, if they make your book better. If you like the suggestions, then I say go for it, but if you don't then don't. There are lots of great agents out there, and is it really worth changing your story in a way that will make it feel like it isn't yours anymore for just one particular human who had a particular opinion? And what kind of representation will you have with that agent anyway? Will you always be writing stories that aren't really you in order to satisfy her? I know alas a few authors who have agents who liked one of their books but since then keep wanting them to write something that isn't really true to them while meanwhile refusing to submit their other work. It's not a fun position to be in.

Last edited:

suki

Opinionated
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I don't know if it is common or not, but if she read the first three chapters, and thought it had promise but would need a significant revision -- especially a structural change -- why would she read any further unless you are agreeable to making those changes? She already knows that as is she's going to pass, right?