PDA

View Full Version : Plotting Poetry?

Lillith1991
09-05-2015, 08:41 PM
I've been experiementing with traditional forms in addition to my normal fare and prose poetry, my chosen form for traditional stuff until November is the ballad. Which, you would think would make things easy as ballads are a simple form. But most of the places I could send my most likely to be mainly SFFH ballads don't want poems to exceed 40 lines. So my question is this, since the ballad is a form of narative poem has anyone here tried plotting them out? And if so, what was the method you used?

Ambrosia
09-07-2015, 02:23 AM
I've never written a ballad before. So I can't help you with your question. I hope someone else can. Good luck.

Lillith1991
09-07-2015, 02:38 AM
I've never written a ballad before. So I can't help you with your question. I hope someone else can. Good luck.

Thanks!

Something tells me that I should've gone for sonnets or some other form. Why is it the deceptively simple ones that always gives the most trouble?

Ambrosia
09-07-2015, 02:50 AM
I think there was a discussion not that long ago (but my memory is faulty so who knows?) about there not being any modern day ballads. I am not sure that it is as simple a form as it may appear, for modern day usage at least.

Errant Lobe
09-07-2015, 04:15 AM
I've been experiementing with traditional forms in addition to my normal fare and prose poetry, my chosen form for traditional stuff until November is the ballad. Which, you would think would make things easy as ballads are a simple form. But most of the places I could send my most likely to be mainly SFFH ballads don't want poems to exceed 40 lines. So my question is this, since the ballad is a form of narative poem has anyone here tried plotting them out? And if so, what was the method you used?