Latin translation?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Captcha

Banned
Reaction score
I'm trying to develop a motto for a private boys' school. It needs to have something about being tempered (like, strengthened) in the name.

Is "Per cognita temperavit' in any way an adequate translation of "Tempered Through Learning"? Is there any better Latin phrase that would use the word "tempered" in a similar way?

Does anyone study Latin anymore? Hopefully, yes...

Thanks for any help!

Corussa

I fight like a dairy farmer
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I don't know if the following is better so much as different (it's over a decade since I studied Latin, and I was *ahem* never a Classics superstar), but what about...

Moderor/moderari - restrain, check, manage, govern, guide, etc. That might be one alternative to tempero/temperari.

Actually, as you referred to being strengthened as a synonym for tempered, rather than being moderated, how about...

Firmo/firmare - not a very 'interesting'-sounding verb to me personally, but it means strengthen, support, fortify, (of mind) encourage, steady. Maybe that's the sort of thing you're going for?

And I know you didn't ask about the 'learning' bit, but might I suggest doctrina or eruditio? Just as options - I'm not sure how you want the motto to sound or to look (like on a school badge), for example, or if you want it to be something that the pupils can use as a basis for a similar-sounding but silly/indecent version of the school motto, in the way that schoolboys might do. Like substituting latrina for doctrina - ah, what highbrow humour I go in for...

Anyway, I'm sure others will be able to offer further options for you to consider! :)

Robert Dawson

Getting The Hang Of It
VPX
Registered
Reaction score
Website
cs.smu.ca
People called Romanes they go the house?;)