I'm seriously thinking of quitting my job

efreysson

Closer than ever
Registered
Reaction score
More accurately, I've already decided to do it, but I'm thinking of just making it happen tomorrow.

I've been working in a supermarket since 2009. And while the hours (7:00-14:00) have been great for an aspiring writer I have just gotten really sick of the place. It doesn't suit my high-strung temperament and December is a nightmare. And as my mother pointed out, when you start seriously thinking of leaving a workplace you are tired of, the desire tends to magnify.

I do get a disability pension due to my Asperger's, and I live cheap due to having cheap tastes, so even if I only find a part-time job for now I would be all right. An opening might be available soon in the local library, which I have always felt would be the perfect job for me (aside from writing success). I'm also giving college some thought.

What's giving me pause is that, well, I have Asperger's and my instinct is always to be very responsible about every important decision and to have things figured out ahead of time rather than leap in head-first. But somehow I feel doing it this time might be really satisfying. And if I act fast I might escape the December hell, as a resignation takes three months to go into effect.

Thoughts? Opinions?

cray

Superior Life form
Registered
Reaction score
are you ok without the income from this job?

and what does this mean,
as a resignation takes three months to go into effect.

you can't just give a few weeks notice?

William Haskins

poet
Kind Benefactor
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.poisonpen.net
it's best not to quit a job unless you have a new job lined up unless you do not rely on a job to live, in which case why have a job?

Connecticut Yankee

Registered
Reaction score