• Read this stickie before posting.

• In order to reduce the number of new members requesting a Beta reader before they're really ready for one, we've instituted a 50 post requirement before you can start a thread seeking a Beta reader.
    • You can still volunteer to Beta for someone else; just please don't request someone to Beta for you until you're more familiar with the community and our members.

Beta Reader wanted for first 3 Chapters of YA Fantasy

Status
Not open for further replies.

Becca Jay

In Perpetual Query Letter Hell
Registered
Reaction score
Hello!
I've been querying agents on and off for the past three years and have had no takers. Some only ask for a query letter and the first five pages, but some ask for as much as fifty pages. That's approximately the first three chapters of my manuscript. Maybe these chapters need a little something more. Maybe there's too much information crammed in those fifty pages. I'm not sure what could be so unattractive about the beginning of my manuscript. I need a third opinion. Here's a the query letter:
According to a witness, they heard a woman’s scream, the accusations of a drunken man, and gunfire. The house burned along with the evidence. What really happened is unclear, but one thing was for certain: Greg Wilson was dead.
His friends mourned, healed, and eventually moved on.
But not Katie.
Sure, she started Fae High and improved her Fire summoning skills. She caught the eye of Michael Earthline, the handsome and honorable leader of the Winged Riders. She became known as the only one of Queen Katery’s descendants who didn’t flaunt her ancestry to get attention and special treatment.
But Greg never left her.
The friend who had always looked out for her when he’d been alive seems to have stuck around to yank her out of harm’s way. And if he’s close enough to keep saving her, he’s close enough to talk to.