Favorite Dystopian Book?

AprilMay4

Registered
Reaction score
I've been searching far and wide for good dystopian novels, but the ones I find seem to have bad ratings. For example, The 100 had such a good sounding plot, but then got terrible reviews. I also recently started Nova which started out great, but then became boring after the first 10 chapters. (I should have read the reviews before buying it). It's been difficult finding good dystopian novels and I am a beginner dystopian author, so I am looking for good authors to learn from. What are your favorite dystopian novels?

Last edited:

Kylabelle

unaccounted for
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I really liked The Dog Stars by Peter Heller. I also really enjoyed Cormac McCarthy's The Road.

MaryMumsy

the original blond bombshell
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
A Canticle for Leibowitz, by ? Can't remember the author. I always considered it post-apocolyptic, but not in a Mad Max way.

MM

Kylabelle

unaccounted for
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale is excellent also.

Perks

delicate #!&@*#! flower
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.jamie-mason.com
Right now I'm reading Emily St. John Mandel's Station Eleven and it's looking to be right up there. Great book.

AprilMay4

Registered
Reaction score
All of these suggestions look so good! It'll be hard to choose which to read first. Maybe I should go in alphabetical order.

Pagey's_Girl

Still plays with dolls
Registered
Reaction score
There's one called We by Yevengy Zamyatin that's also very good.

It's not strictly dystopian, but Resurrection, Inc by Kevin J. Anderson is a good read as well. I didn't see Children of Men namechecked, but that's also a good read.

Zaris

Registered
Reaction score
I would definitely say „1984”... It is a very actual book.

Vito

Recalled to life
Registered
Reaction score