PDA

View Full Version : Querying for a series?

Bmann
07-06-2015, 06:50 PM
Hello all, I have been sending out queries for my ms but I think I may be going about it wrong. My story is intended to span three books, I'm a newbie so I'm not sure how to address this properly within the query? Should I even mention this in my query? The thing is while I intend and would want it to be a three book story it could, with some altercation be a standalone story. I've read a lot of conflicting stuff about whether or not to even mention the word "series" in a query. Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you.

Aggy B.
07-06-2015, 07:18 PM
The phrase you are looking for is "series potential".

FREX: Noodles is an 80,000 word dark fantasy with series potential.

Even if an agent is looking to pick up a standalone book, most will be open to the idea that there could be more if the first is successful. What you don't want to do is imply that the book will only function as part of a trilogy or that you're going to spend the next three years writing the sequels even if the first book hasn't sold yet.

I queried a steampunk novel as having "series potential". There is a chance that was a turnoff to some of the agents I queried, but the one I signed with was completely jazzed about the idea that it was the beginning of a trilogy.

Naturally, YMMV.

Bmann
07-06-2015, 07:31 PM
Thank you very much Aggy:)

Jamesaritchie
07-06-2015, 07:41 PM
Three books is usually not a series, it's a trilogy. This does not mean the first book can't stand alone, if written properly. But unless it's a true trilogy with one story that spans three books, I wouldn't mention it at all. It's an incredibly rare novel that does not have series potential, and for new writers, series are made by sales numbers, not by planning.