Help me create a creative writing course from scratch!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Yasaibatake

is her own imaginary friend
Registered
Reaction score
For those of you who don't know me, I'm a middle school teacher. Next year our course assignments are changing and I will now be in charge of the creative writing course. Yay! Here's my problem: there's nothing set up for this course. No curriculum, no standards/objectives, nothing. I finally got in touch with the lady who taught it for the last few years, but she freely admitted she had no idea what to do with it and the kids "didn't really do anything" in her class. I need some help! How would you set up an ideal creative writing course??

A few points to keep in mind:
- The course is open to 7th and 8th graders only. (12-14 years old)
- It's only one semester long.
- Outside of basic terms from English class, my students have no writing backgrounds/knowledge at all.
- Student motivation at my school is notoriously lacking (fairly poor neighborhood and family expectations are focused on jobs, not education).

Any ideas or suggestions would be a huge help!

JBVam

Registered
Reaction score
Hi! Speaking as a aspiring author who loved creative writing assignments in school; why don't you give them assignments that lets them channel their creativity? For instance, give them an assignment where they can write a poem based off a set of topics that they choose. They can write a short story with dialogue and one without dialogue. Or have them write an essay on whatever they choose. Those are just some suggestions. I feel that your class will allow your student an escape from their world. I for one have always used writing as an outlet and love it to this day. Hope that helps, I have never been a teacher so I can only imagine how hard your job is. good luck to you :)

cornflake

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score