PDA

View Full Version : More self-published books migrating to trade publication

Laer Carroll
07-02-2015, 10:01 PM
I get several Publishers Weekly newsletters, sometimes one a day, sometime several. In this last week I came across a couple more notices of self-published books being picked up by trade publishers besides The Martian.

I find hard to imagine any dramatic increase in such pickups. But I suspect this is a trend which will grow, though slowly and modestly. Here are my reasons.

The QUANTITY of SP'd books is increasing, in part because it is becoming ever easier to self-publish.
The QUALITY of SP'd books is increasing. This is because the SP culture is becoming more sophisticated. For instance, forums such as this one give writers pointers on how to improve their books. And some writers listen.
The REPUTATION of SP'd books among agents, editors, and publishers is increasing because of the successes of the occasional SP'd book as a trade book. (The reverse is also true. Any time such a trade book fails to meet projections the reputation will be hurt.)

A side effect of this trend: the more success self-publishing in general has the more the competition among writers will increase. Individual writers will have a harder not an easier time!

Old Hack
07-03-2015, 12:29 AM
I think you're right that the quantity of self-published books is increasing. But I disagree with you about your other two points. And I don't think self publishing is increasing the competition among writers. Each book is individual. This has always been the case.

Dennis E. Taylor
07-03-2015, 02:03 AM
Books are not a zero-sum game in that they aren't graded on the curve. If I pick up five books and they're all good and readable, that's five wins. I'm not required to fail 10% of them.

But books are a zero-sum game in that readers generally have a budget of money and/or time, and if I simply have to pick three of those five good books, two will lose. Although I might pick them up later.