Thoughts on a simple cover?

ASeiple

Livin' la vida biblia
Registered
Reaction score
Hey there. Looking into self-publishing, and DIY book construction. I'm no artist, but some work with GIMP and some stock art got me a simple cover. I'd appreciate a look over and would welcome any comments. I freely admit to being an absolute noob, so any advice is good advice.

Last edited:

ElaineA

All about that action, boss.
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.reneedominick.com
First of all, congrats on your book!

I'm not an artist AT ALL, but, commenting as solely a reader hunting thru thumbnails for something to buy, I'm afraid this isn't working for me. The first kneejerk thing that jumps out for me is the line going too far down the front. I don't like that it cuts the title, or the "Written by" and your name. (Frankly, you don't need "Written by" at all). Second impression is that I have no idea about the basics of what's on offer. A romance? Paranormal? Mystery? Legal procedural? As a reader I do depend on the cover to give me some sort of first, broad impression about what's inside.

If I were making a "this might catch my eye" wishlist, I think at the very least it could use some color. Somewhere. I'd prefer at least a wash of color on the background, just to soften it up some. I assume you're going for stark, but it's just a bit too much so for me. I do feel the line needs to be addressed. It strikes me as invasive. Maybe thinner? And shorter? I like it between the people, not so much the words. Finally, your title is good--very intriguing to me--so I'd like to see it stand out more with a better font and bigger size.

I guess the bottom line is for this reader it's just a little bit too simple. But by all means give my opinion the weight it deserves-- featherweight. There are some terrific cover experts around here who will weigh in with much more valuable suggestions. Best of luck with your story!

dpaterso

Also in our Discord and IRC chat channels
Staff member