Any reason to stop querying after receiving several full requests?

colder2013

Registered
Reaction score
Hey, everyone. I'm a longtime lurker here.

I know how people pause between batches to see if their query letter works before sending more, but what if the query letter works and you receive several requests? Do you keep going and try to get as many reads as possible or do you wait for the rejections?

Also, how many rejections before start querying again?

Pony.

Aspiring supervillain
Registered
Reaction score
Having not sent any queries, myself, yet id say stop. Send out the requested materials and get working on your follow up.

Sage

Supreme Guessinator
Staff member
Registered
Reaction score
I have lots of experience with getting full requests so let me give you reasons for waiting and not waiting.

Not waiting:

You may get a response on a full request tomorrow. Or it may take a year. I'd say the average is 3 months (my average may be closer to 6 months; when I used Query Tracker, I was often the longest wait). Some people report getting no response on a full, but I've never had that when the reason wasn't that the agent dropped out of agenting.

And when you do get a response, you may not get anything helpful out of it. My rejections on the first novel that got a lot of requests were all, "Great concept but..." and then something pretty generic.

Meanwhile you could be sending out queries. That also could take a year to get a response. So now, if you've waited let's say 3 months for those fulls to come back and then send out queries that could also sit in inboxes for months on end, and you're extending out the already excruciating query process.

Plus, it's a little easier to handle that wait on fulls if your inbox is still active.

Waiting: