Need help selecting a deer rifle

Tinman

Registered
Reaction score
Hi, everyone. I need help selecting a deer rifle for a scene I'm editing. I have very little knowledge regarding guns, but, for reasons I won't get into, I want it to be a semiauto with a button safety. The only thing that matters is that the rifle be cheaper and an older (not manufactured after 2000) model. If you can give me a make and model number, and know of any performance issues (frequent jamming or accidental discharge problems), I'll greatly appreciate it. I haven't had the best of luck researching this online. THANKS!!

Pony.

Aspiring supervillain
Registered
Reaction score
Id say a .308 winchester or a marlin 336W .30-30, I know you said a semi auto and the marlin is a lever action but its really common deer rifle. The basic design hasn't changed much in over 100 years. It hasn't changed because it works. At $400-500 its fairly affordable,as far as rifles go. And shells are not hard to find.

Tnonk

Registered
Reaction score
I currently use a bolt action Remington Model 700 .270 with a Bushnell Buckmaster 3 x9 40 mm scope.
However, when I got back into hunting 20 odd years ago, I started back with a Remington 7400 Auto-loader in 30-06 Springfield.
I give the edge in knockdown power to the 30-06 but not by much.
I disliked the action on the auto-loader, although it was not the rifles fault. It was an older rifle and had a few issues that caused me to move on to the bolt action.

One of my issues with the rifle (auto-loader) was an annoying habit of a set screw backing out of the carrier bolt. This caused it to scratch the second round in the magazine as it fed the top round into the chamber.