• Read this stickie before posting.

• In order to reduce the number of new members requesting a Beta reader before they're really ready for one, we've instituted a 50 post requirement before you can start a thread seeking a Beta reader.
    • You can still volunteer to Beta for someone else; just please don't request someone to Beta for you until you're more familiar with the community and our members.

Please help me find a mentor or coach.

Status
Not open for further replies.

SiennaBloom

Registered
Reaction score
I am having a terrible time finding a coach or mentor. I am a novice writer working on a romance novel that is not erotica. However there will be sex scenes as appropriate to the story. I live in a rural area where there is no writer's group and I consistently tell the coaching services this when I write to them.

So far this has been my experience:

• I write asking for a coach, they respond asking for a sample which I provide immediately, they then write back saying the sample shows I'm not ready for an editor. I had put “coaching” in the subject line of every email as well as in the body of the email and they can't see the word coaching verses editing?
  • I write asking for a coach and if I get a reply where they ask for payment up front to give me a sample of what they can do for me. I pay them as requested and send the sample. They write back saying I should take their on-line classes with no sample of their coaching help and say the payment I sent is nonrefundable. (I did get the refund in the end but this was a con artist.)
  • I write asking for coaching and they offer to give me a free sample of what they can do for me and I get a reply that says I should read books or join a writer's group. They never actually provide a sample of what they can do but they tell me to contact them if I want coaching. (When I asked for coaching to begin with.)