Did you go to school for writing/publishing?

Umber

Registered
Reaction score
I'm in my second year now at college, it took me a while to decide what to major in. Last year I declared as a communications major (im focusing on more of the media classes) and just this week I've finally declared creative writing as my minor! I like to think that on a practical level it will help with my comm degree, but personally I'm hoping it will improve my writing of course lol. I'm in one class this semester and have really loved it!

anyways I know many authors went to school for something other than writing, and you really don't need a MFA or anything to get published, but I was just wondering if any of you went to school with the intent of getting a degree that would help with writing?

Write_At_1st_Light

Writer of Nothingnesses
Registered
Reaction score
123 Pencilvania Ave, Writers Block, CA 90210
Website
www.DavidRedstone.com
Nope! :)

I did take a creative writing course in college but my major was Theatre Arts (performance). Didn't graduate, because I immediately discovered that one didn't need a college degree to be an actor, at any level.

Writing is a need, to true writers. They cannot teach such a concept because it's something deep within - has to already exist by the time you reach college. Or, it can remain in hibernation through college, and then blossom some time after you've earned your degree.

Courses can help you discover or refine a writing technique, help you maybe find your writing voice. But most writers are driven by passion.

Brightdreamer

Just Another Lazy Perfectionist
Registered
Reaction score
Website
brightdreamersbookreviews.blogspot.com
Dear gods, I hope that's not necessary - I can't even afford a course at a voc-tech diploma mill...