NYPD standard gun

SerenaAkeroyd

Registered
Reaction score
Hey Guys,
What is the standard gun issued to cops by the NYPD? Anyone know, plz?
Also, what would be a really sleek little pistol/revolver? Something that would make the standard issue look really clunky?
ALL help super appreciated!
Thanks so much!

asroc

Alex
Registered
Reaction score
Glock 19, SIG P226, Smith & Wesson 5946. The Glock 19, like all Glocks, is ugly as sin, the P226 and the 5946 are, IMO, much better-looking, although I wouldn't really describe them as "sleek." (Not little either.)

SerenaAkeroyd

Registered
Reaction score
Thank you so much!
So, if I say the Glock 19 as the standard issue, that would be okay?
Do sleek guns even exist? Lol. See, I'm no expert :p The description just fit well when I was writing this scene and thought I'd better ask! :D

cornflake

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score
I believe there's a size choice as well within the allowed models - like a glock 17 or 19, Sig 229 or 226...

I believe there are still grandfathered in other duty weapons in use, but asroc has the choices you get now.

cornflake

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score
Thank you so much!
Do sleek guns even exist? Lol. See, I'm no expert :p The description just fit well when I was writing this scene and thought I'd better ask! :D

I'd stop at that if I read it, because there isn't a single issue firearm. Some departments do that. The NYPD doesn't. Of course sleek guns exist, well, depending on your definition of sleek, I suppose. Also crappy guns exist - see the Glock? ;)

SerenaAkeroyd

Registered
Reaction score
LOLLLL, yeah, I googled it. Very clunky.
Which departments, if you know of any, do standardize their firearms?
And re. the sleek, I know of Beretta...are they crappy? :p Basically, I'm saying the crap one the heroine gets from the police, the sleek one from a gang. Haha.

asroc

Alex
Registered
Reaction score
Thank you so much!