PDA

View Full Version : If you aren't sure anybody will say anything, they probably will.

BenPanced
05-01-2015, 09:44 PM
Self-pubbed author Lacey Noonan has been hit with a lawsuit alleging she didn't have the right to use a photograph of Rob Gronkowski, tight end for the New England Patriots, for her cover art on A Gronking to Remember (http://www.bostonglobe.com/lifestyle/names/2015/01/08/amazon-pulls-gronking-remember-) (since pulled from Amazon). It's also been alleged that the couple featured on the cover are also suing since Noonan didn't have the rights to use their picture, either. It's not clear how she'd gotten the engagement photo since they maintain it wasn't uploaded anywhere but she's maintaining her "total newbie ignorance".

I believe — and hope — that’s the only problem anyone has with the book since it is such obvious satire and parody.John and Jane Roe, the anonymous couple who filed suit after the NFL raised objections, say otherwise:

The use of the Plaintiffs image has held them up to ridicule and embarrassment. This outrageous connection has been further aggravated when the book, with the Plaintiffs image, has been reproduced in the media nationwide. The book has been shown as a source of ribald humor on "The Tonight Show" and "Jimmy Kimmel Live" as well as being displayed and read before the press at media day for the Super Bowl.From their lawsuit (full text here (http://www.scribd.com/doc/263295117/gronking1)).

Xelebes
05-01-2015, 09:47 PM
Boston Globe link not working.

chompers
05-01-2015, 09:58 PM
Newbie status is not an excuse.

Jamesaritchie
05-01-2015, 09:59 PM
I've seen this. I sincerely hope the couple wins the lawsuit. People have to stop stealing, stop thinking something is theirs just because it's online. Those who steal photos will also steal novels and short stories, and anything else.

This is a particularly bad case, and I'd be mad enough to take a ball bat to someone who used a photo me me this way.

ElaineA