First person romance for new writers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Josie

Registered
Reaction score
Cathy

I was somewhere on this big forum asking about first person POV and you had left a message that if written well, first person can work with a strong voice, and you also mentioned Touch of Evil.

Now I can't find that message. Do you happen to remember where it is?

I'm an aspiring to be published author and have an idea to write first person POV for both the hero and the heroine. As I'm a beginner, though I've written a few novels, I wonder if I lessen my chances to be published trying this in the early stages of my writing career. Doubts abound in me. I have written first person before. Only in the heroine's first person POV. One was even a requested full from Silhouette Bombshell, Julie Barrett, rejected eventually.

It's an idea I have to write a romantic suspense for Tor, as I see Anna Genoese is looking for some.

What do you think? I'm picking up your Touch of Evil from the bookstore today!!

And I'm probably on the wrong thread here. If so, I apologize

Last edited:

Cathy C

Ooo! Shiny new cover!
Kind Benefactor
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.cathyclamp.com
Okay, now that we're on the other thread, I'll answer this question.

I don't think it's IMPOSSIBLE to sell a first person romance novel as your first book (since that's exactly what we did!) But first person is a lot trickier to pull off than writers realize. Moving the plot forward in a realistic way when the person doesn't know what's behind the next door, or what happened after s/he closed the PREVIOUS door is . . . well, hard. There's also the issue of not having every sentence start with "I did this" or "I thought that."