Will agents take on previously published novels by e-pubs, or should I not bother to submit?

Pisco Sour

Registered
Reaction score
As a newbie writer I sold the first book in a space opera trilogy to an erotic romance publisher. It sold very few copies, I believe, because the book is not an erotic romance and romance readers were annoyed by the 'no HEA' ending- plus the fact it's more of a women's fiction/adventure than a romance per se. It's a 3 books story arc so all threads aren't wrapped up until the end. Anyway, after three months I asked for my rights back and have those in hand, in writing. (I had to give up my royalties, but I was happy to do that since it meant no legal hassle). I'm wondering if I've burned my bridges with agents now, seeing as this book was already e-published. I hadn't considered seeking agent rep for this trilogy, but I'd like to try now that I've got it. Am I delusional?

Last edited:

whiporee

Registered
Reaction score
8700 foot above sea level, 1500 miles from the oce
Website
www.abeachday.com
Yeah, I'm sorry to say that you're pretty much done. I think the best course of action would be to re-edit it, make it as pretty as you can and then self-pub on Amazon or its ilk. You could spend some money on marketing and that might help make it profitable for you.

You have to remember that agents are just (I don't mean just. They are also a lot of wonderful awesome things, too) conduits to publishers, and publishers don't have much interest in publishing something that isn't gong to make them oodles of money. Since you've not shown a track record of making oodles of money, the chances are that publishers won't be interested. And if publishers aren't, agents aren't.

So write the next one, go through the querying hell process and if it's successful, then you've got these other three that might make the publishers drool. But you'll have to show it someplace else first.

Sorry for the bad news, and good luck.

Pisco Sour

Registered