PDA

View Full Version : I Absolutely LOVE My Agent, But...

Luzoni
03-28-2015, 03:44 AM
I have a few questions about what's a normal timeframe for revisions of secondary novels with an agent. I have a wonderful agent who is a fabulous editor and we spent about 4-ish months revising my first novel, the one she signed me for, about a year and a half ago. Unfortunately it's not sold yet and I'm eager to put another novel on submission because I'm a prolific writer and I love the work and I love working with her.

So I sent two additional novels to my agent to try and get those thru revisions and onto submission, but while the feedback she gives me is great, it's sparse and spread out over months. I sent one last summer and hadn't received a lot of feedback by Christmas. I understand that not only is she busy (she has a full time job other than agenting and has her own books to write/publish) but these secondary novels may not be something she's very passionate about compared to the first one.

I wanted to run this by the forum here as I realize this may not be abnormal at all. What are other writers' and agents' experiences with revisions of additional novels? Should I reign in my eagerness and just be more patient? But, more importantly, do you guys have suggestions on how I could help the situation? I don't want to nag her, but I don't know what's normal or what I should expect. Any feedback would be much appreciated! :D

popgun62
03-28-2015, 03:56 AM
Two things about your agent bother me:

"...while the feedback she gives me is great, it's sparse and spread out over months" and ..."she has a full time job other than agenting and has her own books to write/publish."

For one thing, why is she spreading out her sparse feedback over months? Sounds unprofessional. The most my agent ever takes for revisions is two months, and her notes are extensive and cover the entire book.