PDA

View Full Version : Preparing to publish first erotica story- pricing

LucyPR
03-12-2015, 04:09 PM
Hi all,

I'm preparing my first short story to put on Amazon as an ebook. The story is only 5,080 words. I've been advised by an author on Amazon, one that does very well, that I should price it at $2.99, as she thinks that because of the niche it is in it will sell (she read it too and liked it, though that almost doesn't matter if no-one is going to pay to read it!). I think this is a huge risk, and am unsure whether to take her advice. As it's my first attempt at publishing, I want to give it the best chance of selling at least SOMETHING, so I'm tempted to go cheap.

Any advice please?

L

alleycat
03-12-2015, 04:23 PM
I don't write or read much in this genre (so feel free to ignore anything I say), but I would think $2.99 for a 5000-word story by an unknown writer wouldn't sell well, or else you will get a few bad reviews afterward from people who didn't notice it was only 5000 words and feel cheated (I've seen such reviews, "I thought this was a book; it's nothing but a short magazine story!!!!").

M. H. Lee
03-12-2015, 04:55 PM
Listen to your friend who does well at this.

Price at $2.99 if it's in any way sexy. Put in the blurb the wordcount if you're worried about that Amazon does list a page count, too. I put it in the blurb and have yet to get a complaint about length. Also, I'd recommend going exclusive with Amazon for the first three months so you get the Kindle Unlimited borrows.

My borrow to sales ratios are about 4:1 on those types of titles and I haven't noticed that a lower price leads to significantly higher sales. Some authors even report receiving more sales when they raise the price.

Maryn
03-12-2015, 06:38 PM