PDA

View Full Version : EMT/Paramedic Expertise requested

ericbryant09
03-07-2015, 03:55 AM
What is the interaction like on the scene of a car accident. Let's say a cop is already on scene and then the paramedics arrive. Does the Officer try to brief the paramedics on what happened or does he just get out of the way and let them take over?

Also, once the paramedics arrive at the hospital, who receives the patient and whats the brief like there. Is it just a quick exchange and the Doctors/Nurse take over? I have no experience in the medical field so all input is welcome and appreciated.

Thanks

WeaselFire
03-07-2015, 04:25 AM
What is the interaction like on the scene of a car accident. Let's say a cop is already on scene and then the paramedics arrive. Does the Officer try to brief the paramedics on what happened or does he just get out of the way and let them take over?

Depends on what the officer knows. He may tell the medical responders that a patient was moved for example. Or tell them the patient wasn't breathing and he started chest compressions. Or used a defibrillator. But he won't try to relay any real medical conditions, that's for the medical folks to assess.

Also, once the paramedics arrive at the hospital, who receives the patient and whats the brief like there. Is it just a quick exchange and the Doctors/Nurse take over? I have no experience in the medical field so all input is welcome and appreciated.

The responders will pass vital statistics along, usually pulse, blood pressure, major trauma and what, if any, medications were administered. They usually will do a quick knowledge transfer about the patient's condition and what got the patient in that condition.

Now, what do you need for your story?

Jeff

ericbryant09
03-07-2015, 09:42 AM
The officer is first on scene and patient is laying on the sidewalk.