Great, here comes another first time novelist with an epic.

D.AllenGriffith

Man of a Thousand Socks
Registered
Reaction score
Not sure where's the best place on the forum for this, but it seems like a good question for an agent.
I'm an experienced writer who's been out of the game for a while. Getting back into it with my first novel and pretty happy with the way it's going so far. Trouble I'm having is that the overall plot is huge. It's a science fiction world hopper involving 12 1/2 different worlds (there's a reason). I can probably rush it and squeeze it all into a decent word count, but I know it would be lacking. I can see it being a trilogy, but I can also see aproaching it as a series of stand alones with a continuous plot. Question is, how does this effect my chances of being published as a debut novel?

waylander

Who's going for a beer?
Registered
Reaction score
It depends. Really it does.
If your novel is good enough to break the rules then I've heard editors say fairly recently that they don't see enough SF.

Jamesaritchie

Registered
Reaction score
If you are an experienced writer, you already know the answer to such questions. Any story can be told in one novel, and it won't be lacking, if you do your part. A trilogy is tough to sell. A long series with one story is even tougher to sell.

The only good I see coming from the fact that it seems almost every writer out there wants to start with a trilogy, or a long series, is that it makes life infinitely easier for those who want to start with hone book, one story.

Neegh

Banned
Reaction score
Write a stand lone, then get it published then, write another stand lone...and so forth.

Stories are about people in crisis, and how they manage to get through (or don't) and the consequences’ of their actions while attempting to get through.

All you need to do is just a write one story at a time.

Last edited:

quicklime

all out of fucks to give
Banned
Reaction score