frozen dynamite

CWatts

down the rabbit hole of research...
Registered
Reaction score
In addition to old dynamite sweating the nitroglycerine to blow you up (like that one guy on Lost), apparently cold temperatures can make it unstable as well.

Current WIP has old-style dynamite (late 19th century so nitroglycerine and sawdust pretty much) being used in winter. The dynamite is being stored indoors, possibly in a basement, while the outside temperatures are below freezing. My characters are trying to keep it from going off -- so obviously they need to disconnect the fuse/blasting cap, etc., but they may need to handle it and it is less stable due to temperatures. So I guess they treat it much like if it was pure nitro? What would be the best way to move it if they have to?

Taejang

Why not?
Registered
Reaction score
I'm not an expert, but after some internet sleuthing, I think you got your facts mixed up. Nitroglycerin has a high freezing point, roughly 57 F or 14 C. Once frozen, it is safe to handle (and actually can be difficult to set off intentionally). When not frozen but kept cold, it is actually easier to use without accidental detonation.

However, when it starts to thaw out... that's a problem. Thawing nitroglycerin is as sensitive as nitroglycerin at high temperatures, and if the rate of thawing is too quick it becomes even more unstable.