PDA

View Full Version : Willing to Beta your First Page

TeamWingless
01-30-2015, 04:47 PM
Hi all,

I have some journalism experience that I'm willing to put toward beta-reading anyone's writing. Ideally, I'd like to start with just a first page--because if you don't hook someone by then you're pretty much SOL--but I'm open for longer beta's if everything seems like it's going well.

So PM me anything you need a second pair of eyes on.

Marlys
01-30-2015, 05:02 PM
Do you know about the "Hook me in 200 words or less" threads in the Share Your Work (SYW) section? Sounds like you'd be a natural for those. The most active one is in Science Fiction/Fantasy, and can be found here (http://www.absolutewrite.com/forums/showthread.php?t=122466), but if you browse around, you'll see there's one in most of the genre SYW boards. Password is 'vista.'

TeamWingless
01-30-2015, 07:09 PM
Hey, thanks for pointing that out. I'm not sure if I can post in there yet, or maybe that's just for posting up your own work. My apologies, I'm just getting to know my way around the forums.

Marlys
01-30-2015, 07:13 PM
Hey, thanks for pointing that out. I'm not sure if I can post in there yet, or maybe that's just for posting up your own work. My apologies, I'm just getting to know my way around the forums.

You can't put up your own work until you reach 50 posts, but you can critique all you like--in fact, it's a recommended way of reaching that 50 mark. If other people see you engaging with the community and doing your best to help others, they'll be encouraged to help you later.

Drachen Jager
01-30-2015, 11:30 PM
Actually, on the 200 words or less threads you can post your own work, even if you have fewer than 50 posts. You just can't start a new thread to post longer segments of your work.