• Read this stickie before posting.

• In order to reduce the number of new members requesting a Beta reader before they're really ready for one, we've instituted a 50 post requirement before you can start a thread seeking a Beta reader.
    • You can still volunteer to Beta for someone else; just please don't request someone to Beta for you until you're more familiar with the community and our members.

Looking for a mentor?? Read This!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

tfdswift

First of all, let me say I am not a mentor. I am a newbie, who has found a good mentor/coach. It occurred to me, after my difficult search, that there should be a list of questions and suggestions, people should ask and check of those offering to be their mentor. I thought up this list after I had a bad experience with someone who offered to be MY mentor.

So here goes (now these are just my ideas and I am sure others will add their wisdom):

1. Are you a published writer? (to be a mentor for a writer they should be a successful PUBLISHED writer)

2. What have you written? (read the things they have written - not all mentors are right for every writer - see if they have something in common with your writing)

3. Do you have any limitations on what you will read? (not all people will consider reading certain things - such as violence or erotica)

4. When you give criticism, do you use harsh, condescending, insulting or belittling comments? (they may not be truthful but look for answers like "the ugly truth", "this is a harsh business", "honest no matter what" or "brutally honest"- these could be warning signs)

5. How many people do you mentor right now? (you need someone who can give you a fair amount of their time without overextending themselves)

6. Do you have references? (check them out - unfortunately some "mentors" are looking to "mentor" people just so they have someone to make them feel superior. No matter how bad you need a mentor, you don't want one of these people)