SyFy's 12 Monkeys

CrastersBabies

Burninator!
Registered
Reaction score
Anyone catch the first show or two? I had it set to record on my DVR and finally sat down to watch the first two episodes. I like it. Some great familiar faces from CW's Nikita and Joe from Fringe. "Nerd" finally has a starring role and I think he's rocking it hardcore.

Here's a trailer <LINK>

I know some people love picking apart time travel issues, so I expect that to come up. I'm not an expert on the subject myself and am okay with what they've explained so far. It seems to follow Looper logic.

What I find myself enjoying is that we aren't going to get episode after episode of people saying, "Wow, I just saw something fantastic, but I must be crazy. No, I don't believe in time travel. It's impossible. Therefore, you must spend the whole season convincing my character that it's real...." Which will be nice. They address that right away.

Also, the main female character actually seems to use her brain. She isn't some backseat bystander that gets caught up in the action and becomes a passive element, being whisked from one crisis to another. She's smart and adaptive.

I'm usually pretty picky about pilots now and the first couple of episodes these days--not wanting to invest in something that doesn't have that "spark" from the start. And this had the it-factor that kept me watching.

And bonus points for the producers recreating Brad Pitt's sweater from the original movie. :)

Last edited:

Steve Coate

Registered
Reaction score
Website
coaterack.blogspot.com
Really enjoying the series so far. I like the new treatment of the Goines character (the one played by Brad Pitt in the movie).

My only nit pick, and it's a small one, all other things considered, is that the time travel machine sends Cole not just back in time, but through space as well, as illustrated in the second episode when he shows up in North Korea.