PDA

View Full Version : Need input from computer scientist

Evan Henry
01-19-2015, 01:39 AM
Hi, everyone:

I'm currently working on a series of short stories dealing with artificial intelligence. My approach is something of a hybrid between traditional "hard" science fiction and a more character-driven story, but I am trying to be as realistic as possible. I'm scientifically literate but by no means an expert.

For the stories, I've "invented" a few (possibly absurd) ideas for how a powerful AI system would function, and I'd like to get some input from someone who actually knows what they're talking about. Rudimentary (or better) knowledge of electrical engineering, and maybe even quantum mechanics couldn't hurt.

Drop me a PM if you'd be interested in reading! I feel like it's a bit in-depth to spell it all out here.

morngnstar
01-19-2015, 04:51 AM
I have a bachelor's degree in computer science. I've never been quite comfortable with calling anyone a scientist (computer or otherwise) unless they have a Ph.D. But I am a software engineer. I touch on AI a little bit in my work and studies. So I will try to answer your questions.

Cath
01-19-2015, 05:10 AM
Do you have a specific question to ask, Evan?

Evan Henry
01-19-2015, 07:11 AM
Do you have a specific question to ask, Evan?

Yup! It's just long and complicated and involves several passages from multiple stories, so I'd rather do it by PM, if possible. :)

T Robinson
01-19-2015, 08:05 AM
Yup! It's just long and complicated and involves several passages from multiple stories, so I'd rather do it by PM, if possible. :)

I think that part of the benefit of the forums is that people see the replies and learn something, even if it does not directly apply to them. No one wants lengthy passages, but it should be possible to summarize what you are trying to determine.