Name for a piece of music

Maze Runner

Registered
Reaction score
Hi Marian, if it's only instrumental then call it an intro or a prelude.

If there are lyrics as well, then call it a verse. Fewer and fewer songs are written this way, mostly went out of style with R&R. Many of the standards were written with (intro) verses.

Maryn

At Sea
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I know what you mean. Like before starting "The Star Spangled Banner," the accompanist might play the music that goes with the lyrics and the home of the brave before starting in on the main O say can you see part. So it's not really an intro or a verse, but much less.

Alas, I don't have the musical training to name it, but I bet someone will.

Maryn, who can't sing at home since Mr. Maryn retired

WeaselFire

Benefactor Member
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I usually just call it Bob. Or exercise. Or practice. But I'm not a musician.

Most musicians would call it a riff, into, setup or maybe Bob. Well, maybe not... :)

The real question is, what do you need for the story?

Jeff

Maryn

At Sea
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I'm liking "setup."

skylark

Registered
Reaction score
Does anyone know the name for the little trill of music that you play before you launch into the song itself? It's for a story where my character has to play Christmas carols on the piano.

Thanks in advance!

In that situation I've never heard it called anything except the introduction.

Disclaimer: I'm British and CofE - other nationalities and variants of Christianity might have other names for it. Googling "Christmas carol introduction" gets me lots of Dickens interpretation. But "hymn introduction" suggests it's the generic term.

onesecondglance

pretending to be awake
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
soundcloud.com