Canadian law procedures

authorMAF

Registered
Reaction score
Website
authormaf.com
Hello,

I wondered if anyone could help me with the follow scenario:

Basically, my MC finds out her husband's company never existed after he's killed. Now, he's left her a lot of money, but what would happen since it's not coming from the company after all? I mean, he's done his taxes for five years of having the (fake) company, but would she still inherit the money through his will or not?

Thank you!!! :D

TessB

The Boxing Baroness
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.tessbowery.com
I'm not a legal expert, but I can try to help... I'm not sure on the details of the question, though. How is the will worded? Did he leave her 'the company and all its profits," in which case she'd be shit out of luck, or '$5 million from my estate as well as controlling interest in Nonexistent Corp," in which case the bequests would be separate items.

Any proceeds of crime would go for reparations to the victims based on a court ruling, iirc, and anything he gained through provably illegal means (pyramid scheme, etc) would end up tied up int he legal system for years before she saw any of it, but someone would have to be aware of the crimes first.

Last edited:

jclarkdawe

Feeling lucky, Query?
Registered
Reaction score
I have to admit to having no idea what you're trying to describe, but any competently drawn will has a "rest and remainder" clause, where anything that is not specifically granted to someone goes into the rest and remainder which goes to a specific person or entity. That would appear to cover this situation.

Best of luck,

Jim Clark-Dawe

King Neptune

Banned
Reaction score
I am not a business lawyer, but in the U.S.A. the situation could exist and would be handled similarly, I think.