PDA

View Full Version : Traditionally Published, Agented Writers, please step in...

Book Chic
01-09-2015, 10:47 AM
Greetings Fellow Writers,

I could really use some sage advice. So here goes:

I'm a published YA author looking to write under a different pen name and slightly different genre. My first book was published six years ago, and only sold 12,000 copies to date. My second book is not doing so well either. My agent - sigh - has passed on several of my new ideas. (Still love him though and always will!) He has given me permission to seek representation elsewhere for my new projects only, but I'm hoping he will always be my #1 agent when things get better sales-wise.

Anywho, the first question is, in the querying stage, ethically speaking, do I have to mention my other two books?

And secondly, is there anyway to find out what is considered really dismal sales? Just need a bit of a confidence booster to show me where I stand - and where agents will perceive me to stand in the line up of published authors.

All advice and comments are appreciated! :)

Debeucci
01-09-2015, 05:19 PM
Hello Book Chic.

You should always be up front when querying agents imo. I don't see why you wouldn't mention the other two books, even if they didn't sell like gangbusters. It's still a huge step ahead of people in the slush pile.

Dismal sales is also pretty subjective, and will depend on many variables. Who was the publisher? What is the genre? What format is it in? Obviously, if your books came out in hardback, sales numbers are expected to be much lower. If in Mass Market, not so much. How large was your advance? It's better to have a small advance and modest sales than a huge advance and better than modest sales. I've read somewhere that the average debut sells around 5k (I've read one 1k as well), which isn't great, especially if that's a big 6 house or even a mid-size house. But again, variables.