Is this obstruction of justice, tampering with evidence, or something else?

smellycat6464

Registered
Reaction score
So this is hard to explain without sounding ridiculous.

Would it be obstruction of justice if a coroner investigating a body at a crime scene intentionally records false information about the deceased? Namely, reporting a body as dead when it is actually in a coma.

Trust me, the dude doesn't maintain the ruse very long (not even for the entirety of the scene, and he actually isn't even a coroner, just a poser), but I'd like to know the name of the crime. Obstruction sounds like a good fit, but my google searches also point to the similar charge of evidence tampering.

Thanks!

and happy writing.

Maryn

At Sea
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I'm not a lawyer, but I do know for sure that coroners can be elected or appointed, and ofter that's how it's done in small towns and rural counties. The person serving as coroner does not necessarily have any medical training at all. (The coroner who testified at our daughter's trial was not a medical doctor. I just now checked and the current coroner is a doctor.)

While your character's defense could easily be an honest mistake borne of incompetence, if he's doing this on purpose, the proper charge probably depends on where this is happening. Add "fraud with intent to deceive" to your maybe list.

Maryn, who asked her lawyer husband but received only an I-dunno

jclarkdawe

Feeling lucky, Query?
Registered
Reaction score
Obstruction of justice, tampering with evidence, fraud with intent to deceive, impersonating an official are all possibilities.

Really depends upon the jurisdiction and mood of the prosecutor.

Best of luck

Jim Clark-Dawe

MarkEsq

Clever title pending.
Registered
Reaction score
In the wilds of Texas. Actually, the liberal oasi