• Read this stickie before posting.

• In order to reduce the number of new members requesting a Beta reader before they're really ready for one, we've instituted a 50 post requirement before you can start a thread seeking a Beta reader.
    • You can still volunteer to Beta for someone else; just please don't request someone to Beta for you until you're more familiar with the community and our members.

Dumb yet intelligent questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hamboogul

What is the purpose of this forum?

I assume it's to unite those who are experienced in some professions with those who are complete newbies who seek to gain entry into those professions.

But it seems to me that most of us are not qualified to be mentors. To some degree, it's like a decent golfer with a hitch in his swing teaching a complete neophyte how to swing a club. So what the neophyte is learning is the game of golf in theory but all the bad swings as well.

And for many newbies, they are so grateful with the notion that anyone is willing to offer them help that they don't actually evaluate the qualifications of someone willing to offer help. The reason I bring this up is that I've been reading threads here and and there and seeing very bad advice dispensed. My area of knowledge is screenwriting and notice that some info that are dispensed are flat out wrong.

That is all. Nothing more to see here. Carry on.

aka eraser

lol Mac. :)

Ham, if that golfer with a hitch in his swing still manages to shoot even, or below par, then a complete newbie could do worse than emulate him.

You make a valid point though and I believe it has been addressed in a thread or two on here: that those wishing to be helped should do research on those offering it. It's what we all advise regarding approaching publishers, editors and agents and certainly applies in the hunt for a mentor.