PDA

View Full Version : Complete novice inspired to write sci-fi... any advice?

Type40Human
11-30-2014, 10:54 AM
I woke from such a vivid dream yesterday that I can't let go of, and has sparked my interest in writing something in the sci-fi genre. The thing is, I know absolutely naff all about it (the most I'm familiar with is Doctor Who, which is vague on the sci-fi element these days), but I keep thinking about it rather obsessively.

I'm not sure what to ask in terms of advice at tackling this genre, though first things that spring to mind: what is considered cheesy/cliché, what is acceptable, and what is required from a sci-fi story (if anything)? For instance, do you need to be familiar with scientific terminology to cram a little of that in, or can you basically riff and get away with vagueness?

I'm starting from scratch here with a rough plot idea, so anything you can advise me on is appreciated. Please go easy on me; I just want to learn. :)

Thanks.

rwm4768
11-30-2014, 11:11 AM
What kind of science fiction do you intend to write?

There's a spectrum from soft science fiction to hard science fiction. In soft science fiction, the technology is there more as a vehicle to tell a more interesting story. In hard science fiction, the technology is often the focus of the story.

A lot of the science fiction you see on TV and in the movies is on the softer side. Doctor Who. Star Trek. Star Wars. In fact, each of these mixes in some fantasy elements as well (which you can do in this kind of story).

For hard science fiction, you'd look at some of the classic authors in the genre. Asimov. Clarke, Niven, etc.

More recently, you see a lot of space opera. Some of them are very much rooted in science (Alastair Reynolds). Others just use technology because it's cool (Lois McMaster Bujold falls into this category, and her stories are still excellent).