Taking a horse for an afternoon ride

Sera Trevor

Registered
Reaction score
I have had zero experience with horseback riding, and yet I must send my characters out on a ride. This is a problem.

In my story, the characters are going on a leisurely afternoon ride - say for a couple of hours. I kind of want them to go through some wooded areas. I want them to take a break at some point and dismount, but I'm not sure what that would look like. Could the horses graze, maybe drink some water out of a stream? I want my characters to have a chance to talk - how close would they have to stay to the horses? How long of a break do people generally take when out riding?

Is there anything else I need to take into consideration?

jclarkdawe

Feeling lucky, Query?
Registered
Reaction score
Two hours or so and I don't tend to get off. Longer I'll get off for a few minutes every couple of hours and walk beside the horse to stretch my muscles.

Horses can graze and drink with the rider in the saddle and that's the norm. Riders usually ride side-by-side and chat as they are riding. A couple, interested in a more interactive sort of moment, would get off, but horses tend to be a limiting factor.

Horses trained to ground tie can be left for a limited period on their own, but trusting a horse to stay ground tied can leave you with a lot of walking. Normally you keep you hands on the horse's reins, which you flip over his head.

Best of luck,

Jim Clark-Dawe

Deb Kinnard

Banned
Flounced
Reaction score
Website
www.debkinnard.com
I was taught, if I was holding the horse by the reins, to hold them quite close to the bit. Of course, if I wanted to let the horse graze, and he's stronger than me so I often allowed it, I'd have to give him a longer rein.