PDA

View Full Version : 10 Things You Didn't Know about Using AW

Maryn
11-02-2014, 01:42 AM
I'm not joking when I announce that I'm not very good with technology. For a time I was nearly up to speed, but then our teenagers left home and I was once again mired in the obsolete. It's sad and funny to realize how very long it took me to learn of the existence of some features here that many people took for granted and used all the time.

I'm going to assume that at least some of you are as non-tech as I am, so I gladly share some of what I learned over a period of years. Once you master something, please help the next person who doesn't seem to get it.

There's FAQs and then there's FAQs. The blue bar at the top of the page, with User CP, FAQ, Community, etc. is not the FAQ you are looking for. It's by the developer of the message board. The good FAQs specifically for AW are here (http://absolutewrite.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=35). Most recurring questions about AW have been asked and answered there, thoroughly and with good humor. It's the first place to turn when you're not sure how to do something.

The Search function included in the blue bar at the top of the page, the one that starts with User CP, FAQ, Community, is nowhere near as good as the Google Custom Search function available at the bottom left of every page. If you want to find something at AW, that's the one you want.

Want to know who's posted in a particular thread and how many times? Go to the board where that thread is listed and click on the number of replies. You'll get a pop-up which shows who has replied and how many posts, in descending order.

In a long or busy thread, you can read the posts made since you last logged into AW by going to the board where the thread appears and clicking on the down-pointing arrow to the left of the thread's title. Be aware that if you did not read the thread the last time you were here, you can miss some posts which would be new to you.