Submitted partial single spaced

JackieS

Registered
Reaction score
I am kicking myself. Just started the query process after finishing my first novel (7 years in the making.) I received a request for my first 50 pages about 12 hours after querying a featured writer's digest agent. I googled how to submit a partial as there were no guidelines listed on the agency's website other than "learn about the process and don't screw up, "and was careful to number my pages (in the wrong spot- bottom center) and include my original query, synopsis and title page with my contact information. I didn't find anything saying to submit double spaced, so I sent this single spaced.

I am so mad and upset at myself. I hope she doesn't reject me on sight of this. Submitted about 3 weeks ago I have been struggling with this for 2 weeks now, not knowing whether I should send an apology with a double spaced submission or just wait it out. I hope I didn't ruin a rare opportunity as a complete novice with no credits.

Please tell me whether I still have a chance with her.

Thank you,
Jackie

ElaineA

All about that action, boss.
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.reneedominick.com
I think this is probably one of those things we fret over that is...not as huge a deal as we make it. (I'm totally like you. I've made silly mistakes that have me biting my nails for weeks.)

If you think about it, all the agent (or her/his assistant) has to do is open the document, change the spacing, save the document and VOILA! double-spaced. It's very likely NOT a deal-killer. Try to remember that the agent asked for your partial because s/he is interested in the story.

Just for future reference, I don't know of any agent who wants single-spaced submissions, and most of them want Times New Roman or Courier font. Remember how much reading they do, much of it on phones or tablets. Give their eyes a break. :)

Jamesaritchie

Registered
Reaction score