Writing a CV

PrincessOfCats

Registered
Reaction score
I'm not sure that this is the proper forum for this thread; if it's not, please forgive me. I looked around for a thread on this topic, but I'm new to the forum and still figuring out the search function, and where everything goes.

I got a partial request today that, among other things, requests a CV. This is the first time anyone has specifically asked for a CV in a partial or full request, and I've never written one before.

I'm pretty much self-taught on this whole query thing -- I learned to write queries and synopsises (synposi?) by reading interviews about what agents liked and didn't like, and examples of what worked and didn't. But that technique isn't getting me a whole lot of help for writing a CV.

My last produced work was an on-again-off-again op ed gig for a local newspaper and a couple of plays performed by a local theater company over 10 years ago. I didn't even major in English in college, because the creative writing department wasn't teaching me as much about writing as the drama department did.

Any advice for how to proceed? Should I just tell them I couldn't deliver a CV because I don't have any recent writing credits?

CrastersBabies

Burninator!
Registered
Reaction score
Are you writing nonfiction? I have no idea why anyone would want a CV unless they are looking for credentials and teaching/research experience.

CVs are essentially resumes for academics that are a bit longer. CV "format" will vary. You could go to any faculty site of any department of any university and click on professors' CVs to get an idea. I could PM you mine if you want.

A CV usually includes your education, work history (research and teaching at the fore), list of publications (including works in progress), list of speaking events like conferences where you were on a panel, boards you have been involved with (e.g. I served on a fiction board for a literary contest), grants you have contributed to, etc. etc.