Getting Readers

Brandi

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.brandirhoades.com
What do you do to get readers?

As I said in the "what are you blogging" thread, I'm new to blogging. I've had my personal blog and my son's blog for a while, but they're mainly for my family's benefit.

I'm now doing 2 blogs - diabetes and being a WAHM - that are intended more for general readership. I've signed up with Feedburner and Technorati, but I still don't have them figured out. How else does one go about find blog readers?

Brandi

Brandon Kerlee

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.brandonkerlee.com
Well, you might try posting links to your blogs in your signature here, for one thing. My friend has received a few hits from other AWers.

Commenting on other blogs is good too - most let you link to your blog in your name, or some other non-obnoxious way.

Plus, having good content will cause your blog to appear in Google. It's all about content, baby!

Sorry...too much coffee tonight. :roll:

- Brandon Kerlee

Dawno

Shiny!
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
someplace around here, anyone seen my keys?
Brandi - welcome, hope you've mentioned your blog up in the Absolute Writers' Blogs sticky thread...

Brandon has made good points - AW readers who find your blog interesting will keep coming back to it. Commenting in other blogs and linking to them helps. I get new blogosphere friends by doing that. That said, I only average 21 visits to my site a day (that's unique readers, not page loads).

Technorati, for us folks out on 'the long tail', works better if you use tags and use them often - and use popular tags. Making the header listings is very difficult - you need thousands of links and hits to get there.