Anyone here an MFA dropout?

Status
Not open for further replies.

raintree

Registered
Reaction score
Hi, everyone. I've been registered for AW for a while now, but haven't been back here in some time. (Ahem--a couple of years).

I am wondering: Is there anyone here who was in an MFA program, and left? I would love to hear about your experience.

I am in my first semester of a low-residency MFA program, and am giving serious consideration to dropping out. The program is not the problem, and I am doing well, according to my instructors. It's my motivation that is the issue. Without sounding like a lazy sack of sh*t, I had no idea it would be this much work. I also suffer from anxiety and depression, and just about every assignment causes me a lot of anxiety. I'm on an emotional roller coaster.

Of course, I am familiar with the whole "MFA or not" argument, so that's not part of my conundrum. It's more like "MFA or not--for me."

Thoughts?

Thank you for listening!

Edit: For some reason, tales on the Internet of MFA dropouts are quite rare.

Last edited:

Debeucci

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.wesleychu.com
I guess the first question is, what is your goal? What do you want to do with your career? If it's to become a novelist, then uh...

Ken

Banned
Kind Benefactor
Reaction score
Not really, but --

After getting meh BA I took one creative writing masters class. Had no intention of pursuing a degree. Just wanted to take a course to help me improve. Pretty cool class, but a lot of moolah. If the price had been more reasonable I might've taken another.

Then too there were two fellow students who complained about the subject matter of one of my stories. The professor told me to tone it down from then on. No biggie. Ironically, another student complimented the production. Even so my enthusiasm sorta dwindled after that.

raintree

Registered
Reaction score